Toggle Theme Editor
Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Charcoal

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by nicmeg, Aug 16, 2012.

1. nicmeg

nicmeg Guest

Hi all, my husband and I plus 3 children are moving to Brisbane in just over a week, we are very excited about the move. I just have a few questions about schooling and me working as a nurse.
    Could somebody explain the schooling system. ie ages for what and cut of dates. My daughter is 5 and turn 6 in October. She has completed her first year of school in N Ireland but an unsure as to what she will start with when we arrive, is it kindergarten or school. I also have a 3 year old and 2 year old.

Also we are move on a my husbands sponsorship 457 visa, I am a nurse but moving on my husbands visa I have had a medical for the visa as I stated I did intend to work as a nusre. Could somebody advice on what I need to do once we land as I know I will need to register over there but dont know a huge ammount as only really just made my mind up that I would def wanted to continue to nurse.
    Look forward to hearing from you,x

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 20, 2012

2. fish.01

fish.01 Member

Hi nicmeg,

Found this on a Qld primary school website and thought it would help:

When Can My Child Start Prep?

• Children must turn 5 before 30 June in the year they start Prep to be eligible.
    • If a parent/carer thinks their child may not be ready to start Year 1 in the year they turn 6 years by 30 June, the parent should discuss their child’s needs with the school principal. Where a child will turn the compulsory school age during the calendar year, parents/carers can enrol in either the Preparatory Year or Year 1 giving consideration to the child’s aptitude and ability, social and emotional competence and physical development.