Toggle Theme Editor
Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Charcoal

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by lmacquet, Jun 15, 2010.

  1. lmacquet

    lmacquet New Member

    I am moving with my husband and 2 kids to the Mount Gravatt area in August. Would love to know of any playgroups/kids activities in that area and if there are any other mums willing to befriend me (ever feel like Billy no mates!!). I have 2 sons - one who is 3 the other one is only 9 weeks old. I am 39 years old, used to work in banking in London and Sydney but will hopefully not have to work in Brisbane. Very apprehensive about the move as settled in the uk but hubbie being South African is going mad with the British winters!

  2. srp

    srp No longer active member

    Hi Imacquet,
    I just want to welcome you to BIB,

    I am sure someone will be able to help you with the playgroups/kids activities, when you arrive let everyone know on the site and I am sure someone will want to meet up for a coffee and a natter.

    Good luck with the move.
  3. Vicheh

    Vicheh Guest

    Hi I am moving to Wakerley in 4 weeks and I just asked a similar question on here! I have a 5 1/2 year old son and a 3 year old daughter. I too will be going from working (teaching) to staying at home with the little one! I feel the same about leaving the UK - mixed emotions basically... excited about the move but really like my life here. We are moving because of my husband's job. He has been there since November and loves it. It would be great to meet up with someone in the same boat!!
  4. lmacquet

    lmacquet New Member

    Hi Vicheh
    Nice to find someone going through the same thing. We are going in 6 weeks time. Once things have settled will contact you - good luck for the journey - something Im definatley not looking forward to!
  5. Rudi

    Rudi Relocation Brisbane

    Hi Louise and Vicheh

    I kind of live half way between the areas you are both moving to, so if you fancy meeting for a coffee sometime then please give me a shout.


  6. lmacquet

    lmacquet New Member

    Thanks Rudi!
    Will be arriving mid August - I have my parents staying with us for a month and then I will be totally alone apart from a boisterous 3 year old and a baby! Will arrange a coffee once things settle
  7. Vicheh

    Vicheh Guest

    Thanks Rudi

    We arrive in 10 days!! It would be great to meet up with you both. It is pouring with rain in the UK today so we are looking forward to the sunshine!

    See you both soon!

  8. Rudi

    Rudi Relocation Brisbane

    I am just back from my hols.....and home to the fabulous Brissy sky and sunshine, with a top temp of 24 degrees today.

    Those last 10 days will fly by for you!! Give me a shout once you are here.


  9. heldownunder

    heldownunder New Member


    hope everything going well with the move.. we are hoping to move in October our 457 visa has been lodged this week.

    I am a 39 year old mum of two 5 and 3. I have just given up a deputy head post so will be also find it hard with being a stay at home mum. I am currently busy sorting, chucking and ebaying. Oh and also shopping - we have enough clothes to last a lifetime..

    I am intertested in any shipping advice you have- it is so hard with young children knowing what to pack/ship etc and I am also interested in meet ups on arrival.

    not sure where we are living yet - we do like bayside but also like the look of Albany Creek- again any advice would be useful.

    good luck with all your moves

  10. Rudi

    Rudi Relocation Brisbane

    Hi Helen

    I went from full time work to being a stay at home mum......and I have to say, I do not miss working at all :wub:

    When we arrived my kids were quite young. Knowing our stuff would take a while to come I brought small toys with me - I am not sure whether you have boys or girls - I have girls and found things like Polly Pockets and Littlest Pet Shop PERFECT!

    You won't get any arguments from me about coming to the Bayside - we love it here. I don't know the Albany Creek area at all. I would not fix one one area until you arrive if you are uncertain. That way you can take time to drive around and see which area will best suit your family.


  11. lmacquet

    lmacquet New Member

    Hi again
    Been here 6 weeks now - how are you settling in? Gradually getting our house straight and finding out about the local area. Are you still up for meeting up?
  12. Vicheh

    Vicheh Guest

    Hi, glad you have settled in. We have been here two months now and are feeling quite at home. My daughter starts nursery tomorrow and my son is loving his new school! I would love to meet up with you all, free most days! Did you settle on Bayside Louise? Apologies for not posting anything here for a while - have had internet issues...!! Vicki
  13. lmacquet

    lmacquet New Member

    Hey Vicki
    Gradually getting settled in - met a couple of brits last week and this week met a through aussies through playgroups.
    We are living in Upper Mt Gravatt - would welcome going for a coffee - the only place I know at the moment is Westfields Garden City in Upper Mt Gravatt but more than willing to travel. Cant remember where you live.
    I cant meet up in the mornings next week but could do any afternoon - does Thursday suit you?

Share This Page