Toggle Theme Editor
Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Charcoal

Discussion in 'Health & Lifestyle' started by toptowa, Feb 21, 2011.

  1. toptowa

    toptowa New Member

    Hi me and my missus are considering a life in brisbane. We have started on our paperwork now. Our biggest concern is that I work at sea. With my wife home alone with 2 kids for 6 months of the year she relies quite heavily on support from her friends and family in the UK for help with the kids, like if she or one of the kids has an illness for instance. Anybody else had anything similar.

  2. heldownunder

    heldownunder New Member

    Hi good luck with your move
    There are lots of mums on here with young children who meet up, people at playgroups, school gates and neighbours are extremely friendly - after being here 4 months i have people i could ask for help - most expats are in the same position so willing to support . Day care is also another option if you have very young children around $60 a day but if pr can get some financial support - I enjoy the child free days a week that it provides and it is great developmentally for children.
  3. Briz Nurse

    Briz Nurse New Member

    Nothing prepares you for leaving family behind, its a gut wrencher. She will have good and bad days. You learn to live with the homesickness and the `peoplesickness` that she will have.
    As others say , there are plenty of people on here and Pomsinoz, the sister site who advertise in the socialising section.
  4. cherry

    cherry Guest

    Hi there,
    We are considering the same as yourself and I could be in the same boat as your wife....I have 4 kids and my husband is looking for construction work. One of the areas suggested would mean Fly in Fly out FIFO, so we would be without him for alot of the time. I understand how your wife is feeling but I am hoping there will be other women in the same boat and we could lend each other a bit of well needed support!
    Hope you do make the move, we will know more in the next couple of months about a date
  5. ms697

    ms697 Guest


    We are considering 'the' move to Brisbane/QLD. I'm a geologist and would likely be on a 14(on)/7(off) rota. my wife and two kids aren't coming out straight away, probably after 6+mnths, but my main worry is creating a social network that can offer help and support to my wife and kids.
    My hope is that using these forums and actually getting into the more active lifestyle associated with OZ we could potentially have a much wider and diverse circle of friends than we have here in the UK.

    Dont know of anyone else has experienced this?

Share This Page