Toggle Theme Editor
Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Charcoal

Discussion in 'Visas / Migration' started by smurfman, Feb 6, 2012.

  1. smurfman

    smurfman Guest

    Hello to everyone,
    i.have a fairly simple question. Can you have a half way comfortable life in brisbane with a yearly salary
    of around 120000 dollars gross with two kids?
    I know that it depends very much on what you expect, but i have never been to OZ and have this offer now.

    Any comments welcome


  2. srp

    srp No longer active member

    You should be fine on that salery
  3. smurfman

    smurfman Guest

    some of the costs i found out

    rent 2500 incl utilities
    car 1000/month
    food 400 per person/month
    health insurance?

    these cost alone sum up to around 5100AUD..sound rather costly to me
  4. Martyn Elmore

    Martyn Elmore New Member

    G'day Chris,

    How long is a piece of string?

    The question may be a simple one for you, but only you know what you want and how you spend your money. Private education for the kids? 2 cars? Big or small mortgage? Overseas holidays? Expensive hobbies? Investments/savings/insurances? Or do you live like a hermit? Each one of us is individual and have differing needs and wants.

    Having said that, in my experience as a mortgage broker, a nett monthly income of around $8k is usually sufficient for a family of four living a "standard" life. Now it's just your interpretation of "standard" that matters!!!!

    Good luck. It'll be the best thing you've ever done!!
  5. srp

    srp No longer active member

    To accurately give any idea of costs, several things need to be considered..

    What visa will you be using?
    Where do you want to live... willing to commute to work.
    Do you want to live near to beach or city, furnished or unfurnished, with or without pool
    The costs for a car, is that hire or buy?
    Schools, private or public?

    The average wage for QLD is around $67000 a year
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2012
  6. smurfman

    smurfman Guest

    It will be a 457 Visa
    1 car
    working location airport
    private school
    rented appartment, 3 bedroomn no pool
    normal spendings and normal vacation
    nothing posh or super luxury
  7. srp

    srp No longer active member


    After buying car I think you would have.......

    Rego (Car tax) $800 per year
    Car insurance $ 500 per year
    Petrol $1.50 per ltr
    Accomodation depending on where you live..... $300 to $500 per week unfurnished, Furnished >$700 per week
    Water Rates, paid by landlord, you may pay for excess water use, needss to be asked when looking for rental
    Private school for two children " I have no idea" Public School pay for uniform and books.
    Electricity $150 month, depending on use of Air con
    Gas, may or may not be available, LPG is common
    Telephone internet bundle $100 month
    No TV licence needed here
    On your visa I believe you have limited access to Medicare (not sure) may want to take out a small health insurance, some do some don't. You do not need ambulance cover in QLD.

    I have put down my best guess for these as I am not 100% sure about schools and stuff.

    I think your biggest expense could be sending two children to private school. Most families would manage on your income very well, and lead a decent lifestyle.
  8. smurfman

    smurfman Guest

    Thank you for your informations.
    I have one more question...maybe anyone knows about the working situation for dentists?
    My wife is dentist and she would like to work as well. We know about the hurdles set up by the ADC, but what about jobs and current salaries?
    most informations on the net are fairly old and i guess outdated.

    cheers from vietnam
  9. srp

    srp No longer active member

    Are you a member of pomsInOz our parent site. On that forum there is a lady whose husband is a dentist and is coming to QLD I believe sponsored by a Hospital. if you are not a member of PIO then I suggest you take a look at the site and look for "Love Shoes" I am pretty sure her husband is a dentist and they are due to move in the next couple of months.

Share This Page